Recommendations for small PoE Access Point (no Router) → UniFi UAP-nanoHD?

I am new to OpenWrt and now searching for a contemporary, small but powerful stand alone access point (no router).

Requirements:

• small
  • PoE (power-over-ethernet)
  • supports 802.11 ac
  • ideally >= 3x3 MIMO antennas for better signal strength
  • Linux-friendly open source drivers

During my research I figured out that Ubiquiti devices seem to have a good support for OpenWrt. Hereby the nice new UniFi UAP-nanoHD is already available as a snapshot.

So my question is: Does it make sense to buy a UniFi UAP-nanoHD now and wait for its final support release in OpenWrt, or will this take more time?

About Ubiquiti, l am also confused about this announcement:

NOTE for UAP-v2 : As for July 2018, Ubiquiti seems to have blocked custom firmware installation possibility by using signatures on all 3.7 and later brand firmwares. As long as there is no brand pre-3.7 firmware available (in order to downgrade) for UAP-v2 devices, installing OpenWrt/LEDE could be impossible

I am worried the UniFi UAP-nanoHD could suffer of the same situation - would you recommend some different access points instead?

What is it you're looking to get out of the AP? In particular what are you going to use in OpenWRT that you couldn't do in the original firmware?

I've spent a bit of time recently looking at APs and I'm questioning the need to put OpenWRT on them, especially if you're going for enterprise level suffix m stuff, like Ubiquiti or the TP Link EAP range. I'm not sure you really get enough additional functionality to offset what you lose. It makes, imo, far more sense to have OpenWRT on the router, but then leave APs as they are.

Which I guess is a long winded way of saying that if the UAP-nanoHD fits your requirements (with or without OpenWRT) then I'd recommend just getting it.

I don't need anything special at all - I just do not trust any kind of proprietary firmware. That's all. :wink:

1 Like