Recommend the NETGEAR Nighthawk X6 (R8000-100NAS)?

I currently run OpenWrt 18.04.x on a NETGEAR Nighthawk X4 ( R7800-100NAS). I was a TP-LINK fan for a very long time but took a risk on the NETGEAR R7800 because of recommendations from this community. I have been very happy with the performance of the NETGEAR R7800 with OpenWRT.

I'm ready to upgrade to OpenWrt 19.07.1. I usually purchase a new(er) router when I upgrade so that if something goes wrong I can quickly fall back to something I know works. I been reading about the NETGEAR Nighthawk X6 (R8000-100NAS) and their seems to be some mixed reviews. Some comments even recommend staying with the R7800. Granted the reviews use the stock NETGEAR firmware.

Would you recommend the NETGEAR R8000 or should I stick with the NETGEAR R7800?

I'm very new to these two products, but have been researching them myself lately.
I believe the naming convention is misleading.
Unless I am confused, the R7800 is actually newer, and has better specs.

R7800 advantages per specs:
About 2 years newer
CPU: 1.7 Ghz vs 1Ghz
RAM: 512MB vs 256MB
potentially better support too, qualcomm vs broadcom

I think the only advantage of the R8000 is having tri-band (two 5Ghz bands).

Anyway, hopefully I am not completely wrong in this analysis :slight_smile:.
My opinion though, keep the R7800 - maybe wait to make sure 19.07.1 is stable, and then backup and upgrade.
All that being said, I have an R8000 because it was the best deal I found at the time... if you want one, I'd be happy to trade :laughing:.

Cheers!
DeadEnd

2 Likes

R7800 wins hands down, I would never consider an R8000 unless you really need the tri band.

I am running 19.07 on my R7800 (my own build) without a problem but it is only lightly used.