Recently discovered OpenWrt, currently planning a medium/large outdoor network and hoping for recommendations on efficiency

We have a bunch of people living a bit spread out on a piece of land and are trying to economically get basic internet to everyone -- we're not highbandwidth users, many don't use much internet at all, we just need reliable basic connectivity. We have a few routers and two decent antennas already, which we have tried to use to get decent coverage but minimal luck. I'm looking at using OpenWrt on the full network but still unsure as I'm new to the system, but if that requires more expensive devices that would be a large downside for us.

Here is a picture with the distance details and some other labels, our gateway is circled. Any kind of help, advice, or recommendations are very welcome! Thanks!

Those distances won't be possible without good outdoor devices and directional antennas - and the 45m link crossing a brick building won't work at all (needs APs on either side). For wlan everything within the fresnel zone would be a major obstacle (yes, including the leaves of trees and bushes), you need more or less direct line of sight to cover those distances, (external) walls are fatal.

1 Like

Sorry I should have mentioned that the gateway has access to a very high point where we mount the antennas that does have direct line of sight to the top left building and most of the surrounding areas (there are some trees). So you're saying we need to antenna-bridge to the outside of the building, then run a wire inside to a separate AP? Thanks for the response!

have you tought about grabbing the shovels and dig cat6a in a tube/wrap?
sure its some work, but very doable and it will save you a hell lot of trouble in the long run (no backhaul wifi troubleshooting) and have high capacity to connect the ap's.

tldr; cables are cheaper, more reliable and faster

3 Likes