Raspberry PI 4 vs EdgeRouter X

Hi,

I am fairly new to getting my hands dirty with networking and want to get the right device to avoid any bottlenecks.

Is there any downside to using an RPI4 over an EdgeRouter X or can you recommend me anything else in the price range and form factor.

My desired set up
I have a small coms cab in the wall so I need to stick to something smaller rather than larger.

I intend to have a range of IoT devices, NAS and a few PC's on the network so nothing major in this department.

My biggest must-have is to be able to assign certain devices to a VPN which I believe I can achieve through policy-based VPN routing.

I need to have 2 wireless APs so any advice here would be much appreciated, if they are POE that would be a bonus. My current plan is to get some TP-link Deco M4s dotted around the apartment if they work in this setup.

Many thanks

1 Like

I'm running a Pi 4 with Orbi and it's absolutely fantastic. Came from an ERL-3 and the Pi is miles better in every way.

I'm using a Pi 4 with an OpenWRT snapshot from about March -- haven't bothered to update to the 21.02 RCs because why mess with something that's working perfectly? Running gigabit fiber, four VLANs, an assortment of IoT stuff on two of those VLANs (one for "trusted" devices running open source firmware, e.g. Tasmota, Espurna; one for untrusted e.g. Google Home, no-name IP cameras), with suitable routing and firewalling between them. Plus NAS and a bunch of other stuff.

Using the POE hat and the Vantec USB3 dual ethernet dongle, which at the time was available for around $31; seems to be more expensive now.

It never breathes hard, no matter what I throw at it. Uptime in months, never needed to reboot once my installation and configuration settled.