Problem during my image build

hi,

I just enter ''make'' in terminal and I got that error, what can I do, it is my first try.. thanks

make[2]: Entering directory '/home/james/openwrt/git/openwrt/scripts/config'
cc -O2   -c -o conf.o conf.c
cc   conf.o confdata.o expr.o lexer.lex.o parser.tab.o preprocess.o symbol.o util.o   -o conf
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/james/openwrt/git/openwrt/scripts/config'
time: target/linux/prereq#0.36#0.16#0.48
 make[1] world
 make[2] tools/compile
 make[3] -C tools/flock compile
 make[3] -C tools/xz compile
 make[3] -C tools/sed compile
 make[3] -C tools/patch compile
 make[3] -C tools/tar compile
    ERROR: tools/tar failed to build.
make -r world: build failed. Please re-run make with -j1 V=s or V=sc for a higher verbosity level to see what's going on
make: *** [/home/james/openwrt/git/openwrt/include/toplevel.mk:234: world] Error 1

I dont want to touch anything after that error, Im waiting :wink:

Did you do this? It can often reveal a lot more info about what might be wrong.

1 Like

tar usually errors out if you're running your build as root, don't do that EVER.

2 Likes

nope, I do ? make with whcich option?

yes I was as ''root'
Do i have to restart?

this is the command.

Yes, you've messed up the access permissions in your git clone, delete and start over from scratch - you don't need root for compiling (nor cloning the git tree) OpenWrt at all.

4 Likes

ok I try that
thanks

just deleting all my files in my folders or I need to do some things via terminal?
im on debian linux (new in linux, new as firmware builder ) but I love it

The newly created openwrt directory (which you got by running git clone https://git.openwrt.org/openwrt/openwrt.git) and everything below it needs to be deleted.

1 Like

btw, a question, I checked some tutos here and there and pretty often, I see that as command:

apt-get install subversion build-essential libncurses5-dev zlib1g-dev gawk git ccache gettext libssl-dev xsltproc file