Possibility to customize CSMA/CA contention window size using OpenWrt

Hi,

I am new to OpenWrt.
I would like to test the impact of changing the contention window size in CSMA/CA using OpenWrt.
Based on my current understanding, it is possible to change the maximum and minimum of contention window size (e.g. with related parameter ieee80211_tx_queue_params) in mac80211 by creating a patch for mac80211 based on this topic - How to create and apply a kernel patch for OpenWrt 18?.

If I would like to change the backoff number in CSMA/CA for each packet transmission, it seems that I need to change the wireless driver instead of mac80211. I got two questions:

1. Is it possible for me to change backoff number for each packet transmission using OpenWrt? If so, how to do this?
  2. If I need to change wireless driver using OpenWrt, how to identify which driver I need to change (e.g., for the source file in the build_dir directory of Netgear R7500, there are many drivers in the directory - driver/net/wireless)?

Appreciate any feedback.

Thanks a lot!

@Yubing19, welcome to the community!

Why would you do this instead of simply altering CTS/RTS parameters?

This one is quite simple. Pick the driver installed by default on your device. If this is a custom box, please provide us the make/model of the WiFi chip.

Thanks for your feedback!

In my case, I need to give different WiFi links with different priority by altering the CSMA/CA backoff number of various links. In this way, the QoS performance of various links can be differentiated.

For example, for Netgear R7500, how to identify the default driver on the device? I did a little search but I did not find related information.

have a look at the output of

lsmod

or look (for example)

ls /sys/class/net/wlan0/device/driver/module/drivers/

Thanks! That works.

1 Like

Hi,

I am still struggling with identifying the throughput performance impact by modifying the contention window related parameter (cw_min and cw_max).