Port Forwarding Issues

Hello all. I am fairly new to Openwrt, having only installed it on my Netgear R7800 a month ago.

I had previously used the stock firmware and allowed a couple of ports to forward to an internal PC which was:
-An FTP server (port 21)
-A Minecraft server (port 25565)
-DNS Redirect (port 53)

After flashing Openwrt, I have opened the same ports (followed a guide: https://www.cfos.de/en-us/cfos-personal-net/port-forwarding/openwrt.htm). I can verify that the FTP port works, but only if I use something like Filezilla...not the FTP built into Windows File Explorer, I am unable to connect.

I also found a forum post about installing some extra packages (their issue passive ftp was not working so they installed kmod-nf-nathelper). I tried installing that package, rebooted my router...but no change.

Can anyone advise?

Thanks,

FTP = TCP # should able to verify it's open using an application as it seems you have already
Minecraft = TCP/UDP? # If UDP, you may have to use NMAP from an external box to verify
DNS = UDP - # NMAP

TCP can also be verified using wireshark and looking for the particular flow and that has a syn-ack.
UDP is connectionless so it will only be verified if something can probe it to react.

2 Likes

[SOLVED] FTP port forward - #2 by vgaetera

1 Like
  1. I assume I need to enter those commands, can you help direct me to the terminal where I enter them?

(I am familiar with Linux and SSH, but have not dabbled much in the openwrt OS.)

1. In case they do work, can someone explain why I needed to use them and install the additional packages?

FYI: I confirmed that before any other changes are made, I tested the access to my Minecraft server...it could not connect so I assume there is something strange with the way that Openwrt handles port forwarding since none of the ports I opened seem to be very accessible...