Port Control Protocol support

I was made aware not long ago about the existence of Port Control Protocol; a successor to UPnP & NAT-PMP. I heard qBittorrent is supposed to support it; as anything else making use of libpcp. What is not clear to me, is anything in OpenWRT that does use libpcp to provide an endpoint. This would be useful in an IPv6 environment; as the default firewall for OpenWRT does not permit incoming IPv6 traffic to clients, that wasn't based on a request from software; IPv4-NAT-style port-mapping is a present workaround.

Hope this is of some interest to folks. Thanks!

2 Likes

I'm not a network expert but was also interested in the topic and did some investigation.
In devel list was a long discussion IPv6 firewall and Port Control Protocol with a proposition to allow incoming connections for IPv6, at least for non root ports above 1024. But the idea was declined because users may not expect such behavior. Personally I think that any ephemeral port 32768–60999 must be open. Or even it may be some subrange of those ports that will be known to be public.

So a computer from a local network must clearly ask a router to open a port, renew it each 30 minutes and keep watching that it wasn't closed after router's reboot. This makes voip/p2p/gaming software more complicated. But OpenWRT definitely must support this.

To open the port the old solution was a UPNP IDG which is part of Plug-and-Play.
And this is an incredibly terrible protocol: it's kind of HTTP over UDP with SOAP style messages in XML. Specifications are unclear - that is probably the most worst documentation that I ever saw.

I wonder how it was implemented at all. But no wonder that it's very vendor specific and anybody violates spec. Anyway many routers do support it at least somehow. I had one such router but it doesn't worked :slight_smile: