Parental Guidance issues

Hi all,
I am completely new to OpenWRT and network configuration and it all pretty much goes over my head! However, I have a BT HOmehub 5A that has been flashed and I have changed the settings to work with Sky/Now broadband.
I have also got two Wifi extenders all working OK - well for the last few hours anyway.
What I wanted to do was to block kids access to Wifi during certain times.
I have followed the Parental Control Guidance and implemented but they do not work. I think it maybe due the extenders not inheriting these rules, but that's just my basic guess!
I was also considering the guest network idea, but know this sometimes causes an issue for chromecasts which I have a few of.
Im using the web interface as the SSH lets me in but whenever I put a command it it says permission denied!
Id like to understand OpenWRT but its a massive subject to start from scratch on! Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

Hi @PLEBHEAD,
welcome to the forum.

I think the lack of replies here comes from your post being somewhat vague as to what your issue actually is. I'll try to see if I can get it going.

I understand you have followed something from these guidelines:

And I suspect you are referring to having implemented blocking Wi-Fi using MAC addresses.

I have a feeling your Wi-Fi extenders may not be in bridge mode.

What that would mean is that your OpenWRT router is seeing all the traffic from devices connected to the extender as coming from the extender itself. So, if you were to block your kid's tablet using its MAC address, the extender would see that MAC address but your router would only see the MAC address of your extender.

Tablet ----> Extender ----> Router

If you were to run your Wi-Fi extenders in bridge mode, they would become "transparent" and the device would connect directly to the router. At that stage, the router would be aware of the device MAC address and be able to act on the traffic.