Package Update error

opkg list-upgradable

The above lists libustream-mbedtls as a package that needs to be upgraded.

Running

opkg upgrade libustream-mbedtls

results in

Collected errors:
 * check_data_file_clashes: Package libustream-mbedtls wants to install file /lib/libustream-ssl.so
        But that file is already provided by package  * libustream-openssl

Im new to this sort of thing. I would like to know how I fix this error without causing more errors or dependency problems. Thanks for any help.

You only need one libustream package.

Pick either:

I personally choose mbed TLS for use with downloading Adblock block lists from HTTPS URLs. If you're having an issue with OpenSSL, uninstall it, and install mbed TLS.

Hope this helps.

root@LEDE:~# opkg remove libustream-openssl
No packages removed.
Collected errors:
 * print_dependents_warning: Package libustream-openssl is depended upon by packages:
 * print_dependents_warning:    luci-ssl-openssl
 * print_dependents_warning: These might cease to work if package libustream-openssl is removed.

* print_dependents_warning: Force removal of this package with --force-depends.
 * print_dependents_warning: Force removal of this package and its dependents
 * print_dependents_warning: with --force-removal-of-dependent-packages.

This happens if I attempt to remove OpenSSL

Then simply remove the dependency and reinstall it, that information was available in your quote. Please read the error message for instructions.

You obviously cannot remove a package before its dependency; but an alternative is to:

Yes I understand that instruction was in the error but that goes back to my original point of not wanting to get into a cascading dependency issue as I remove packages. I didn’t want to remove that one only to get another error. I am unfamiliar about what some of the packages are but just want to make sure everything is up to date.