OpenWrt bufferbloat for ps4

not techincal, but have been using open wrt for about three years now to help combat bufferbloat. was reccomended to use it by a friend who was technical and can feel it has made a big difference. unfortunately he hasnt been online due to work i would just like to know whats the best settings to combat bufferbloat. installed luci-app-sqm and use sqm-qos. also have a netgear router connected to my router provided by my isp (sky)

thanks for anyone who can help

It's pretty easy to set it up via LuCI.
This short documentation is all you need: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/traffic-shaping/sqm

All you basically do is telling the router to use CAKE, and tweaking the bandwidth parameters. Ideally you'd set both the down and upstream bandwidths a little bit lower than the link capacity - usually between 85 to 95%.

Do not use CAKE with the regular QoS modules! The documentation above will tell you to uninstall it.
I'm a newbie regarding OpenWRT, so take me with a grain of salt.

ive done all this but it seems that i dont get optimal results.

What exactly are you calling "suboptimal results"?

Give more informations like what exactly you need to do,if you have any other devices...in general what is your problem with results.

i have netgear night hawk x4s router (r7800) bridged to my router that my isp have provided me. i installed openwrt and luci app sqm. using cake and piece of cake, i found that when running speed tests via dslrreports, that my sample size for download and upload vary around 40-50ms ping. but when running the test sometimes i seem to get a sudden lag spike of aroun 500ms, sometimes more. from testing it seems that the lowest ping/sample size i get is at about capping my badnwidth at 63 percent of my normal bandwidth. i have had my sample down as low as 5 ms before and im hoping i can get it that low again.

sorry if this seems to not make sense and thanks for any help given