Openconnect gets 0.0.0.0 as gateway

I am new to this but I followed every suggestion I found on the forum and used all the guides on both Luci interface and ssh.

Scenario: TP-Link Archer C50 V4 with a custom Openwrt 22.03.2 with Luci and openconnect vpn client (Device storage is low and I could not use the provided rom and install openconnect as a package later)

everything works fine with default config and I have internet on Lan side. I configure Openconnect with server address, Port, username and password. I dont have a server hash but I dont think its needed because I use Openconnect on my phone and my pc without the server hash and it works perfectly.

Anyway, I put the vpn in Wan zone in the firewall. the vpn connects and gets IP and DNS from server but the gateway is 0.0.0.0, at the same time vpn is connecting to the same server in my other setups and the gateway is there so I dont think its the server problem.

any suggestions ?

Do you control both sides of the VPN? If so, maybe you'll have better luck with Wireguard. (if you can't use WG for any reason, just disregard this comment).

I'm not an Openconnect user, so I cannot help with this particular VPN protocol and its configuration, but hopefully someone else can assist.

Unfortunately no. it is a paid vpn service that I am using that only works with Cisco Anyconnect at the moment. I have to use openconnect here.

right now I am using an old laptop to share the vpn to the network but since I had this Archer C50 around I thought it is way easier just to use a router like normal people do :smiley:

I guess I need to force the vpn interface (openconnect) to also take the gateway address from server's dhcp because it is already getting the DNS and IP address perfectly fine.

but I dont know how to do this

Do you have vpnc-scripts package installed?

What's ip ro output after openconnect is connected?

As a workaround you could try to create a file in /etc/hotplug.d/iface and deal with the route.