Only 2.4GHz band works on Linksys WRT32X

I am new to OpenWRT. I have a Linksys WRT 32x. I installed the firmware from the list found on the site. I can access Wi-Fi, however, I can only get the 2.4 band to work and not the 5G bands. radio 0 and 2 are in-op. They don't show up on any Wi-Fi scans.

radio0:
Marvell 88W8964 802.11nac
Channel: ? (5.000 GHz) | Bitrate: ? Mbit/s

radio1:
Marvell 88W8964 802.11bgn
Channel: 6 (2.437 GHz) | Bitrate: 72.2 Mbit/s

radio2:
Marvell 88W8887 802.11bgnac
Channel: ? (? GHz) | Bitrate: ? Mbit/s

is there a package that I can add to make these radios operable? with the factory firmware, the 5g was working with my devices.

Thank you for your assistance!

Disable radio2 88W8887. It is quite separate (and probably originally not meant for actual usage).

Make sure to select legal wifi channels for radio0.

Check you system log for error messages after you run "wifi up" on ssh console. Maybe you have selected something invalid in wifi config for radio0 or its wifi networks.

1 Like

use putty to ssh into console?

is "wifi up" the command at the console?

1 Like

Yes / whichever ssh terminal you like.
yes.

1 Like

Thank You! I will try that!

1 Like

I was able to ssh into console. Typed "wifi up". I also disabled radio2. Selected the proper country code. Checked for log error messages. rechecked and played with different configs for both radio's 0 & 1. I still can't get radio 0 to show up on a scan. I changed the two radio SSID's to SSID name 2.4g and 5g respectively. Radio 0 is 5g and radio 1 is 2.4g.

There are radio icons next to the radio names on the wireless overview

radio0
image radio1
radio2

radio1 is the radio that is working, 2.4GHz band. The icon is different.
had to remove 2 icons, new user, will upload in a reply

On device configuration screens it says both wireless networks are enabled.
This maybe true, but the 5 GHz network is not showing up.

Any thoughts?

radio 0 and radio 2 have this icon next to them.