New Internet Setup via Static IP Address

Hi,
I am new to openwrt. I need help.

I have a TP link Router, I have installed openwrt firmware on it. Installed LUCI also. Now, I have the web interface of the router also.

I need to use this router so that I can have wireless internet in my home.
My ISP has provided me the following :
An ethernet wire.
A static IP address address, subnet mask, gateway address, DNS server address.

The ISP guy also connected this wire on my laptop and showed me that his internet connection is working fine.

So far,
I have followed the following steps :

1. Fully reset my router
  2. Connected the ethernet wire given by my ISP into the WAN port of the router. 4 LAN ports remain unconnected.
  3. Followed the steps mentioned here openwrt steps in the "via plain Ethernet" section.

But, my internet is not working.

I have attached the web interface screenshot of my router for more details.

Please help.
Thanks in advance

Hello and welcome.

First off, since this is a new installation, you might want to start by using the current version (19.07.3) instead of an older one (18.06.1)

What does this mean?

Out of the box, OpenWRT wan (upstream Internet) connection is configured as a dhcp client.
If you have a static address, you should change that under Network -> Interfaces -> General: protocol should be "static" instead of "dhcp client". You need to confirm switching the protocol (there is a large button to click) and then fill in the static IP, mask and so on. As far as a wired connection to your router is concerned, you should be good to go. You'll still need to set a wifi password and configure it from a wired connection before it is enabled.

1 Like

It means that after configuring the router, when I connect my laptop to the router via Wifi network, I dont get any internet. :frowning:

1 Like

Is your laptop using automatic/dhcp settings or is it still using static settings

3 Likes