NetGear Orbi Backhaul Network Not Working Qualcomm Atheros QCA9984

Hey All,

I have a Netgear Orbi RBK50 and RBS50 on the latest firmware 23.05.3.

This is my first time setting OpenWRT and have been able to get most the settings up and running as needed, the one hurdle I'm facing is what Netgear calls the backhaul connection for the mesh wifi. Specifically, I can't seem to get the Qualcomm Atheros QCA9984 to work.

What's happening:

In Network > Wireless, I see Radio0 which is the problematic one (on both devices)

I can scan for networks and devices show up.

I created a 802.11s (as well as other network types) network with various settings, channels, and power. When logging into my RBS50, using the it's own QCA9984, I cannot see that network, but I see others.

I set the Country Code as recommended on another thread and rebooted.

I'm a bit lost as to what to check. The signal is and bitrates are always 0 or ? or unknown depending where I am viewing it. Encryption always shows none, whether or not I'm using encryption or not.

iwinfo

phy0-mesh0 ESSID: "backhaul"
          Access Point: (REMOVED BY ME)
          Mode: Mesh Point  Channel: 157 (5.785 GHz)  HT Mode: VHT80
          Center Channel 1: 155 2: unknown
          Tx-Power: 20 dBm  Link Quality: unknown/70
          Signal: unknown  Noise: -105 dBm
          Bit Rate: unknown
          Encryption: none
          Type: nl80211  HW Mode(s): 802.11ac/n
          Hardware: 168C:0046 168C:CAFE [Qualcomm Atheros QCA9984]
          TX power offset: none
          Frequency offset: none
          Supports VAPs: yes  PHY name: phy0

I tried removing the built in ath10k-firmware-qca9984-ct software package and replacing it with the newer ath10k-firmware-qca9984 to no avail

I'm a bit at a loss of what to do. At this point I'm just trying to get it discoverable, but it looks like I'm running into a bug or a driver issue, but no real clue what to troubleshoot here.