Multiple different AP's turn to MESH system or similar - to extend my WiFi range

Hello! I'm newbie here. I'll try to explain my situation.

I live on the island with no mobile signal around the house but I managed to solve that using Mikrotik LHG LTE6 and two Nanostations M2. Mikrotik LHG is 'main router', and is located ~200m away from the house where it's bridged to Nanostation in AP mode, and other Nanostation is located on my roof in Station mode.
Last Nanostation, call it 'B' is wired to gigabit poe switch where I have internet connection (tested with my laptop, or new access point).

Thing is that my house is not so small and I need at least 3 Access points to cover it as I wanted. (3 floors, big backyard..)

I have different devices available (my bad, not same manufacturer...)

I have:
1 x Ubiquiti uap-ac-m-pro
1 x Tp-link Archer C6
1 x Mikrotik (wAP)
1 x Tp-link, some old model, maybe 901ND

Thanks for reading, my question is:
Is it possible to MESH all of them if I flash them to Openwrt? I saw some article about DUMP-AP and etc....
My main router, Mikrotik LHG is set to 192.168.1.1 so I suppose that all these AP's need to be on the same subnet (192.168.1.x)

1. Mikrotik WAP - static 192.168.1.2
  2. Ubiquiti - static 192.168.1.3
  3. Archer C6 - static 192.168.1.4
    with DHCP only enabled on 'gateway' router?
    I will post an image to describe all my mess.

Thanks in advance!!

Yes, you can spawn a mesh between devices using different SOCs/ wireless chipsets while running OpenWrt. Not all wireless chipsets/ drivers/ firmwares support non-mainstream uses that push the envelope (such as meshing) equally well though, so the devil might be in the details.

The question would be if you'd need a mesh (which one, there are different implementations) in the first place, or if simple AP configurations (if a wired backhaul is available through the house) or a simpler WDS/ 4addr (static locations of your WDS repeaters) would suffice already.

1 Like

Hi!