Multi 4G WANs to LAN across openwrt not working

I am not an expert!

I am in a rental house in France that has no fixed line coming in (it is usually a holiday gite). We are here for 18 to 24 months while we rebuild a house destroyed in a fire. The mobile 4G signals are pretty bad but when they work they are OK. Free using Orange is stronger than SFR here.

I have invested in two 4G receivers, one using a Free (it is the name of the company) sim, the other using my usual SFR sim. The Free sim piggy backs the Orange network which is much stronger than my usual supplier SFR at this house.

Both connections can be flaky and both are limited to 200 GB a month and we need about 300 to follow UK internet TV plus all the other things we do.

So after reading up it seemed sensible to try to combine these two 4G inputs through my openwrt router to give a load balanced system that would use both suppliers and spread the load to ensure we had full access to the 400GB without having to switch from one to the other (which is what I have been doing).

So I have the Free router (a private tp-link MR600) feeding its internet into the WAN port of my openwrt router running openwrt 20.02.2 and my SFR 4G router feeding its internet into the LAN4 port of the same router. The Free box is set to 192.168.1.1 and the SFR box is set to 192.168.0.1. The openwrt router runs the LAN and wifi for the house using a network of 10.0.0.0/24 with the router on 10.0.0.1.

To complicate matters I have a private VPN that the openwrt router accesses using policy based routing but thus far it does not appear to have any impact on what I am trying to do (and I do not think it should).

I tried to use the information in this tutorial:-

to change LAN4 to a second WAN interface called WAN_SFR but could not find the entry for the switch controller.

After reading and searching it says that my version of openwrt uses DSA in lieu of swconfig so I used this information:-