Moving from 150Mb/s Fibre to 900Mb/s Fibre

Hi,

I am still fairly new to OpenWRT (but very happy so far). So, please be gentle if I am saying/asking things that are dumb.

I have four Zyxel WSM20s. One is the router on a 150Gb/s fibre service, two more are APs in a mesh (cat 5E backhaul will be installed once I get "a round tuit") and the final one is a spare - just in case.......

These were configured with OpenWRT in December 2023 and the setup has been pretty solid.

I am planning on upgrading to 900Mb/s Fibre in the Summer. We have a new ISP in town - so the upgrade should save me around £15 per month, at least in the short term. I am likely to lose out on the quality of technical support from the ISP, though.

Because I like to be prepared, I have read So you have 500Mbps-1Gbps fiber and need a router READ THIS FIRST - #2 by dl12345

As far as I can get my head around it, the Zyxel WSM20 router will not be "man enough" for the increased speed. Have I got that right? I am seeing a CPU speed of 800MHz in the spec for the WSM20 but the post says 1200MHz is necessary for 900Mb/s and more CPU speed that that is desirable.

What am I likely to experience if I put my WSM20 onto the 900Mb/s service? My guess is faster speeds than the 150Mb/s but not 900Mb/s. Can I expect proportional to the CPU speeds (800/1200 x 900 = 600Mb/s)?

Thanks in advance for any advice/input.

I think it is saying you need that much speed just for packets and scheduling with SQM.

But the bottom line is it is going to cost you and we still don't have off the shelf solutions that will satisfy anyone that comes here.

"At 1 GHz processing rate, each packet gets 12000 clock cycles of calculation if the CPU is maxed out doing nothing but processing packets."

Nope, I was wrong; they are saying just processing packets raw, no SQM.

Test ?

If it works, you save some $$$, if not, start looking into additional hw.