miniDLNA over OpenVPN Configuration

Hello,

I am trying to get my miniDLNA server to work over OpenVPN. I have managed to get SAMBA and things like transmission-web to work over my VPN, but when I try for my miniDLNA server -- it doesn't work.

I Google'd my issue and I could not really find any useful information. Someone said that because miniDLNA uses multicast it is not going to broadcast via VPN because it can't differentiate between my IP addresses and global ones (which makes sense).

Someone said they were able to find a solution, but I have no idea how to implement it which is why I came to the forums to ask. They said in order to get this to work I have to:

• Run two DLNA daemons, one on 10. and one on 192.
    OR
  • Run Bridged OpenVPN:

I am a bit of a novice, I apologize. I have no idea how to run two instances on linux or OpenWRT. I am very excited to learn, though. Oh -- and there was a guide but its not for the OpenWRT and the arguments don't really work cause the command line is different.. I linked it below if anyone wants to take a look.

Also, I hear you can also have miniDLNA work on OpenVPN using the argument listen_ip 'insert.ip.address.here' inside /etc/config/minidlna, is this true? I know that if this works, you can't have local DLNA, you have to pick one or the other to broadcast. But I think I also read elsewhere that this has been removed -- why would they do this?

Last, last thing: I also just bought a Raspberry Pi 4 which is coming tomorrow in the mail. Don't know if I can fix the miniDLNA issue by having two devices.

I just don't get why SAMBA and transmission-web, other programs, work but miniDLNA does not.

Also, does anyone have any cool recommendations on stuff to install on OpenWRT? I have the basic cool stuff, please mentions cool things you are proud of or want to make you never leave OpenWRT. Thanks!

https://spremi.wordpress.com/2014/06/30/minidlna-multiple-instances/

1 Like

Can I bump on here? If so, 'hella' bump plz