Luci fails to start, openwrt_s905x3_k5.4.158_2021.11.12.1717

Fresh install of 21.02.1 on an X96 Air Android TV box. OpenWRT running on USB stick. Accessing the web interface gives a Bad Gateway error.

Running /www/cgi-bin-luci over ssh results in the following:

I've tried creating an empty directory /tmp/luci-indexcache with no difference to the result. Deleting it again also makes no difference.

I suspect there may be an issue with luci.cacheloader, but I don't know where to find it, or whether it is text or binary. I have NO lua experience. Googling doesn't return anything that looks like a solution.

Is anyone able to help me out please?

can you see any files/folders beginning with the name luci in /tmp?

1 Like

Yes.

What are you actually trying to do?
LuCI is not that kind of daemon executable. The www server uhttpd is running and serves pages by calling cgi.
Uhttpd is the permanent process.

Your debugging attempts look strange to me.

One proposal is to use a different browser in order to eliminate browser cache related errors. (Sometimes browsers are too sticky with contents)

Are you sure that your box is the only device at 192.168.1.1? (Or have you changed the IP for the box?)

I'm walking on a limb, but I'd venture that you aren't using OpenWrt at all, but rather some bastardized OEM firmware which might have borrowed parts of OpenWrt.

• OpenWrt has (little- to) no relation with Android
  • OpenWrt doesn't support any Amlogic s905x3 SOC
  • OpenWrt has little to offer in terms of GUIs, mediaplayers or other features that would make up a "TV box"

in which case the following applies:

Your post does not appear to be related to an officially released OpenWrt version, package or supported operation.

It is unlikely that you will receive useful input here.

Please seek advise from the relevant maintainer.

1 Like

Open the web interface on a remote device. Hence "Bad Gateway" error.