Luci documentation?

Hi,

Just moved to OpenWRt for the first time and I must admit, i am having a hell (difficult) of a time configuring and using it.

Mostly the documentation, the topics are clear, but all of them always provide info for CLI based operations, i havent seen much (perhaps any?) from a point of view for Luci users.

So forgive me if I missed it, but where can I find documentation using Luci?

Currently, I am trying to do the following:

1. Configure OpenVPN server to access my network from outside using port 443.

2. Configure WireGuard server to access my network from outside from restrictive networks.

3. turn on or off IPV6.

4. Maybe install/user Snort?

I am not an expert on any of those functions, just know what they do, but as I said, I would prefer to use the GUI, instead of the CLI.

1 Like

In case you are not aware, when you install those you also need to install a luci_app package for them which adds a page to LuCI.

http://192.168.1.1/cgi-bin/luci/admin/network/network (or whatever your IP is), then you edit your LAN interface > DHCP Server > IPv6 Settings.

2 Likes

Thank you @Hegabo.

I am aware of that part and already did it, but nothing else after, since as I mentioned, no documentation for Luci, only CLI.

About IPV6, On that page (DHCP Server>IPV6 Settings) I have the following:

Router Advertisement-Sservice=server mode

DHCPv6-Service=Disabled

NDP-Proxy=Disabled

Always announce default router=unchecked

Announced DNS servers=empty

Announced DNS domains=empty.

Going by all those entries, looks like IPV6 is disabled. should I enable it?

If yes, which values should I use?

Any good reasons to do this?

Any extra precaution that i need to take?

Anywhere in this site that I can find answers or guide for Luci on these things?

do you mean dhcp-v6-server... wan6-client? you haven't really stated your goal clearly ( read up about ipv6 basic knowledge ?)

depends on your environment goals

Same as above

Oversimplied generalism.