Luci Can't change IP or set time

I am a newbie to OpenWrt, it already solved an issue I was having so I am sold and now want to get more seriously into it.

I proved concept on a TPlink 1043, but now want to upgrade to an AC router.

I was able to get one from ebay already built with 19.07 but it will not allow me to make changes. This router is a BT Hub5 and so not a straighforward install, hence I went for a pre-built model.

First I tried to change the IP subnet so that it could replace another router and so I could copy config settings from one to the other visually.

So I rebooted and cancelled change, then tried to change time by telling it to match my laptop time. This has the same failure.

BT5 Rollback on every change

I have read a plethora of similar posts on changing the IP but the solutions that worked for them do not work for me. Things like reloading the new IP on another tab halfway through update, just did not work.

Now I could try the Apply unchecked button but it knowing my luck I will brick the router, so I am trying to find an easy, total newb instruction on how to change with putty and ssh.

One of the problems I have had with 1st OpenWrt is that it was missing things like WGET and when I tried to install it I got a load of dependencies which themselves had dependencies and so on.

So if someone could give me the step by step directions for how to change the IP I feel it would help others.

Any comments as to why the time would not work would be helpful too.

If you are trying to change the LAN IP address, you have to click on 'Apply Unchecked' button when the warning dialogue box appears.

Have you studied the Installation guide for HH5A?
https://openwrt.ebilan.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=266
You can always use the Reset button on back of HH5A to restore default openwrt settings (see section 8).
Section 10 also contains some useful information if using SSH instead of LuCI btw.