Lower signal since moving to OpenWrt

Hi.

Day 2 on OpenWrt.

Linksys WRT3200ACM router.

2 antennas enabled. 2gh and 5gh.

I've been using my wireless TiVo for a couple years no issues on the Linksys firmware.

It's been losing connections since moving to OpenWrt. I have it connected on the 5gh channel as always.

When I go to add a new network to redo the settings it shows a lower signal on the 5 but full signal on the 2.

I am using all DEFAULT settings.

Also my iPhones are going to 2 bars instead of full 3 sometimes.

Suggestions on a fix.

I'm SO lost.

Thanks in advance.

Don

Unfortunately , some of the drivers either cant or havent yet been made fully compliant, so cant use the full tx power they are legally allowed to.

Some things to check

iw reg get

Have you set the country code correctly? If openwrt is operating with parameters that your other devices arent allowed to, youll likely see some issues. Are you using one of thr channels that has the highest allowed tx power? (Look closely, usually some are limited , often having DFS listed besidr). Have you tried changing channels - probably unlikely but might be interference.

uci show | grep disasso

Is disassoc_low_ack=1 ? If so you could experiement with disabling that.

uci set wireless.@wifi-iface[0].disassoc_low_ack=‘0’
uci commit
uci show   #optionally with grep filter from above

Repeat the set command above for all radios listed.

To change country codes there are 4 entries showing on my system. Modify them in the same way as the low ack setting from above

wireless.radio0.country=“XX”
wireless.20.country=“XX”
wireless.radio1.country=XX
wireless.28.country=“XX”

Hi.

So I'm brand new and I'm using the graphical interface. All that 'unix' kinda code loses me. I don't even know how to enter that on my Mac.

I DID check the WiFi Settings for each of my two networks (2 and 5) and they are both set to US.

Do you know how to change those 'unix' code settings in the UI Interface?