Logging Port Forwarding

Hello,

I'm quite new to OpenWrt so I hope my question will be clear :slight_smile:

I'm working with OpenWrt 23.05.2 (r23630-842932a63d) and I set up a port forwarding rule but it doesn't seem to work... So I would like to log the connection attempt but I don't know how to do it...

I tried to add a nftables rule but I don't know where are the logs... I couldn't find any information on the internet... Here is the the result I get with nft list ruleset

table inet fw4 {
	chain input {
		type filter hook input priority filter; policy drop;
		iifname "lo" accept comment "!fw4: Accept traffic from loopback"
		ct state established,related accept comment "!fw4: Allow inbound established and related flows"
		tcp flags syn / fin,syn,rst,ack jump syn_flood comment "!fw4: Rate limit TCP syn packets"
		iifname "br-lan" jump input_lan comment "!fw4: Handle lan IPv4/IPv6 input traffic"
		iifname { "wan", "pppoe-wan" } jump input_wan comment "!fw4: Handle wan IPv4/IPv6 input traffic"
		jump handle_reject
		tcp dport 8123 ct state new log prefix "New Home Assistant connection: "
	}
}

The relevant line here is the last obviously ^^ I found that command here

I'm up to any advice :smile:

Any logged entries will show up in logread.

I just tested the nftables log prefix myself using cake-qos-simple like so:

chain store-dscp-in-conntrack {
        ct mark set ip dscp or 128 log prefix "Try this: "
        ct mark set ip6 dscp or 128
}

and the associated logging works for me - see this logread snippet:

Tue Apr  9 15:42:01 2024 kern.warn kernel: [279178.808735] Try this: IN=br-lan OUT=wan MAC=xxx SRC=xxx DST=xxx LEN=611 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=63 ID=0 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=60908 DPT=443 WINDOW=4096 RES=0x00 ACK PSH URGP=0