Literal meaning of „listen address/port etc.“

Hello, I am a Lithuanian translator for „OpenWrt“. I had found a good result of meaning of „Masquerading“, though I seem a bit stuck, question:
Does the meaning of „listen“ and „listening“ – port, address, for peers, interfaces and more.
Roughly translate to: „Waiting for connection“ and „Awaiting connection (listening *(literal sense) and ready to receive)“?
Seems like other languages just translated these as „hearing port/address etc.“ (as in human sense of hearing).

I would say it does, yes.

2 Likes

In this context, "listen" means that the server process has opened and endpoint, and is waiting for a connection request from a client. "Hearing" does not seem right, as the server process is actively paying attention to the connection requests. And "wait" sounds better, but can be a bit confusing, because "listen" often implies "open + wait".

2 Likes

I agree with eduperez wait or even waiting sounds more logical.

hearing to me implies that you hear something now.
EG:
I hear the birds in the forest chirping

Listen to me implies that something is about to happen or could happen
EG:
If you wake up early in the morning and listen carefully you will hear the birds chirping at 5am

EDIT:
It seems to me that this is should already be solved for your language, You will have to look at how the big companies document this, Think cisco or tplink

2 Likes

Thanks for helping, I had sorta gotten that other translations are not of the highest quality or accuracy (In understandable languages at least)

For example, Russian just translated this as – „server address“ and Japanese as English with Katakana letters.
Or

Слушатели – Listeners, people who listen/hear.

Same with Polish: