Linksys WRT1900ACS disconnecting LAN

Well I’m lost.

I’m relatively new to networking and need the help of Mt Olympus here.

I installed the latest version of openWRT and the system update today. When trying to configure VLANs I lost the ability to communicate to router through physical ports and then was tweaking a Wi-Fi channel and lost connection through one radio. I tried to reset the router through luci on the last radio and that did it. No way back into the router through Wi-Fi or through Ethernet. Trying to switch partitions has been unsuccessful. Did I kill it?

no just follow the failsafe and reset

https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/troubleshooting/failsafe_and_factory_reset

1 Like

Thanks for the reference dlakelan. I was able to get back into the interface by setting my computer to a static ip at 192.168.1.2 which got me around from being constantly released. Once in I was able to fix the radios. Now to fix the switch...

https://community.linksys.com/t5/Wireless-Routers/I-have-bricked-my-Linksys-1900AC-router-please-help/td-p/921514

Well, as you can tell, Linksys and the Linksys forums aren't any help with third-party firmware. ("CC" is a reference to a 2015 release of OpenWrt.)

Would you confirm that you're running 18.06.2 or if you're running a snapshot and let us know what the problem is, if you haven't resolved it yet?

1 Like

Yes, running 18.06.2 with the system update. I am still not sure why it disabled the radios and I think the dhcp was dropping all leases as fast as it was assigning them. Performing resets, even hard resets, would not repair the dhcp issue. I had to fix my client with a static IP and that kept it stable enough to get back into communication with the server and reflash system update BIN.

I will need to spend some time configuring the network switch tonight I'll probably have more questions since this is fairly new to me...