Linksys EA8300 stock firmware restore methods

Hello. I'm new to OpenWrt, so I have a question about how to return to stock firmware on my Linksys EA8300 if something will go wrong.
From wiki I got that only way to return back to stock firmware is "triple boot failure" method, if stock firmware sill exist on "secondary partition". But if I upgrade my OpenWrt it will overwrite that "secondary partition".

Why it is not possible just flash stock firmware image from OpenWrt GUI?

P.S. Sorry for my bad English.

Hi.
Do you have, or not, the Linksys firmware to other partition ?

I've just got my router from Ebay and it is running on stock firmware. I want to better understand the whole process and have backup plan before flashing custom firmware like OpenWrt.

Ok fine.
From Linksys, flash openWrt using factory file. You will now boot from partition 2 with Openwrt. Configure as you wish, and backup the settings.

In OpenWrt, install the package luci-app-advanced-reboot. It will allows you to select the Linksys partition 1 as boot. It's easier than the "three boot failure" switch method.

To upgrade openWrt, NEVER use a sysupgrade file: it will be flashed on partition 1, and you will lose Linksys firmware. Use advanced reboot to switch to Linksys, and than flash a FACTORY image of Openwrt. It will be stored on partition 2. Don't forget to restore your settings, and you're up.

2 Likes

Thanks for detailed instructions.
But I'm curious what will happen if I flash stock firmware from openwrt?

Best advice is do not even try it.

If you were foolish to perform a 'forced' install the linksys OEM firmware via LuCI or sysupgrade via SSH method onto the alternate partition, you'd probably brick it.

Once bricked, then you have to hope you are able use the Automatic Recovery method to get router back to a working state...
https://openwrt.org/toh/linksys/ea8300#recovery_automatic