Linksys EA8300 - display in Windows interface

I’m new to using custom firmware with a router. My EA8300 is a decent router, but it doesn’t play well with the Windows interface... none of my Linksys routers ever did... there was always something missing or not working correctly. The newest builds of Windows 10 definitely don’t like the Linksys router. I tried a netgear router and it plays very well with Windows with everything works as it should. My question is if I was to install custom firmware with the EA8300 if it would fix the problems I’ve experienced with the Windows interface. For example, the network page where all connected network devices show up, the netgear router is listed as a gateway and has appropriate menu options. The EA 8300 shows up, but it does nothing and the right click is broken with an “properties not available” error. So would custom firmware fix this issue?

In general, the vendor should know their own hardware best - so if you are experiencing problems with the vendor firmware, the hardware would be the first suspect.

In this case, where is may 'merely' be a software issue, it's possible that OpenWrt can improve the situation, but you'll have to test it yourself - no one can answer that for you.

Exactly what does that even mean? "Windows interface" would refer to your desktop and why would any router integrate to that?