L2 link aggregation on EA8500

Hello,

I have a Linksys EA8500 with the latest OpenWRT.

According the the TOH the switch chip is a Qualcomm Atheros QCA8337. Taking a look into this chip's datasheet, there is one reference to link aggregation, so I guess this router should support it (I'm no expert,, that's my understanding).

In my home I have two CAT5e links between each floor, so I'd like to implement a 2GB trunk (Link aggregation / bonding ) on each pair. for that, I have the EA8500 in the attic and two TP-Link switches in the groundfloor and basement, respectively (diagram attached).

Why? Because even though I have 1GB cards/links in my PC, NAS, mediacenter, etc, the real bandwidth is never close to that. If I use 2GB trunks I know I'll also not be close to 2GB but at least I expect to be over 1GB and therefore I believe I'll be able to get much closer to 1GB. Latest but not the least, this would also provide some redundancy in the case some cable gets broken.

Another reason may also be because I'm a geek and would like to learn how to do it !

Anyway, I saw some posts regarding link aggregation here in the forum.
My understanding so far (please correct me if I'm wrong), is:

• L2 Link aggregation is not so common, although some people are trying to achieve it
  • OpenWRT doesn't have any dedicated support for this L2 link aggregation.
  • The only way to implement this link aggregation is with OS-level commands, but most of them seem to be handled at layer 3 (routing) instead of layer 2 (switching).

Between the TP Link switches I was able to configure the 2GB trunnk and it's working great. Just need to understand if its possible to do it between the EA8500 and the TP-Link switch.

Any thoughts on this?