Kernel sources

Hi.

I am new to openWrt, and I want to make some changes in the kernel sources (I have a new driver I want to add to an external device).
I understand that only after I run the initial 'make', the sources are downloaded and compiled.
Where are the sources files are downloaded to? I found several instances of the same files... which should I change?
After I update my driver, how do I compile the kernel only (if possible)? would it create a new image file?

Thanks.

make target/linux/{clean,prepare} QUILT=1

Patches are managed using quilt and git.

make target/linux/{clean,install}

I generally run make -jN clean download world to generate an image, once I know my patches "work".

Enabling ccache under Developer Options speeds subsequent builds. Enabling logs there as well can help speed diagnosis, generally without having to re-run with V=s.

4 Likes

Thanks for you reply Jeff.

Once I compiled the KERNEL only, I just copy zImage ?

And one more question:
I noticed that my sources are duplicated in two instances:
./build_dir/target-XXXX/linux-4.14.122/drivers/...
./build_dir/toolchain-XXXXX_gcc-7.4.0_musl/linux-4.14.122/drivers/....

Which of those I should change?
If I want to handle my kernel changes in a source control, which directory should I manage?

No, zImage is not enough. Run a complete build to get firmware.

You manage the patches in git, not the edited sources. Those sources get downloaded, extracted, and patched each time. See the linked page for more.

The target build files are generally the ones needed to change what is built for the device.

3 Likes

Thanks again for your fast reply.
I followed the link you mentions, but it seems that I am still missing something, so I'll be more specific with my question.

Let's say I want to change an existing driver file. For the example, let's talk about file named usb-serial.c, which is located in /drivers/usb/serial