IPv6 not working on OpenWrt AP

I have open NAT & IPv6 working fine directly from my main router, but any traffic through my second router (OpenWRT) is moderate NAT & IPv4 only. I've been messing with openWRT for over 14 hours in the last two day and I can't seem to get it to work no matter what I do!

PLEASE HELP ASAP!

@trendy can you help? (I've seen you help others)

Configure the second router as a dumb AP, which makes it a simple wifi to wired bridge. IPv4 and IPv6 from a wifi device will then be passed through to be handled directly by the main router.

1 Like

But I want to be able to use a VPN on the OpenWrt router.

Also, why can't open NAT & IPv6 be passed through while it's smart?
Do I need to make OpenWRT my main (if that's possible)?

When my second router had stock firmware it passed along open NAT & IPv6 perfectly fine...

(I'm not experienced in networking, but can follow instructions)

Edit: Just to make my setup more clear, it's modem, (main/stock) router, then OpenWRT router.
Connected by ethernet cables.

That makes everything different. When you do that, the OpenWrt router will become the main router for VPN users, since it's going to single-NAT them into the VPN tunnel. Since the packets will be encapsulated and encrypted as they leave the OpenWrt router, your other router becomes just another untrusted part of the Internet as far as the VPN is concerned. Any NAT in that router and beyond is not apparent when the packets are decapsulated at the VPN server.

1 Like

Well, I know running the VPN on OpenWRT (as the main) will VPN the whole network & make it use that NAT, IP pool & DNS servers, but my problem is happening when the VPN is off.

Is there a way to
(Scenario 1)
Isolate a ethernet port from the VPN to use to wire to the (ex-main) router to make it the AP without a VPN?

(Scenario 2)
Get IPv6 & open NAT working on OpenWRT (as the secondary/AP) while not using a VPN?

(Endgame/goal)