IPv6 behind ISP router (BT - UK) - working config

Hello,

For various reasons, I'm unable to use my BT provided router (a SmartHub 2) in bridge mode. I'm therefore following the "Poor Man's Bridge" basic set-up guide, and have all my devices plugged into my OpenWRT router (an EdgeRouter X SFP) that then plugs into the SmartHub. Most things have been working fine, with the exception of IPv6 - had various flavours of "router could ping, LAN clients couldn't", "LAN clients could ping, router couldn't" plus things like opkg failing.

I thought I'd post what currently works for me in the hope it will help someone else - this took a fair bit of trial and error but has been stable so far. I won't cover anything else around the basic config of the OpenWRT device etc as the Poor Man's Bridge guide does a good job on this.

Disclaimer: I'm new to OpenWRT. This works for me. If it bricks or otherwise knackers your connection, it's not my fault :slight_smile:

Prelims
Set up the BT hub as usual (including DSL connection). Plug the OpenWRT device into one of the LAN ports. Take a backup of your current working OpenWRT config.

SmartHub Configuration

• Firewall - leave in Default mode
  • DMZ - set to the IP of your OpenWRT device
  • Disable Wireless (assuming all traffic needs to come via the OpenWRT device)
  • IPV6 - Configuration - Enable ULA, change IPV6 address allocation to Stateful. Take note of the Link Local Address from the IPV6 Status tab (both the one under IPV6 LAN and under IPv6 WAN) and the Remote Link address from IPv6 WAN - you'll need them later. They'll start "fe80::".

OpenWRT - WAN6 Interface
GENERAL SETTINGS:

• Protocol - DHCPv6 Client
  • Bring up on boot -yes
  • Request IPv6 address - try
  • Request prefix length - automatic

ADVANCED SETTINGS;

• Use DNS servers advertised by peer - yes

OpenWRT - WAN Interface
DHCP SERVER - IPv6 SETTINGS

• RA Service - relay mode
  • DHCP v6 Service - relay mode
  • NDP Proxy - relay mode
  • Master - yes