IPTV VLAN doesn't work on my new router

Hi!
I've been using a TP-Link WDR4300 as my router for many years and IPTV with VLAN has been working fine.

Now I've upgraded to an APU2 board and can't figure out how the configuration should look like to make the IPTV traffic go further downstream in my LAN.
IPTV VLAN interface gets an IP from provider like before but that's it.

Because the TV itself is in another building it's a couple of switches in-between. This is how it physically looks like:
WDR4300 Wan-in with IPTV on VLAN845
Then a switch to split up a few cables for the first building.
Then one cable over to the other building connecting VLAN1 for LAN and VLAN845 to an Archer C7.
VLAN845 untagged and connected with cable to the STB/TV.

This has been working very well but now when I'm replacing the WDR4300 with something without an in-built switch i get very lost. Should there be an eth0.845 for WAN as well as an eth1.845 for LAN to be able to forward IPTV traffic? Should those be bridged together? Should wan eth0.845 be bridged together with main wan eth0? Been reading and thinking so much about this now if feels like in lost in a maze.

Would really appreciate some guidance!

-F

Your previous device (the WNDR4300) had a hardware switch built-in to the unit, which made passing VLANs easy. Your APU2 board has individually routed ports, though, and no hardware switch. While it is still possible to do what you want via bridging, it is not an optimal solution.

You may find that you'd be better off with an outboard switch that and handle passing the VLANs as required for your network. Often this needs to be done ahead of the router (i.e. between the ISP and your router), which means you need to properly configure the switch or you could encounter issues including security problems. And if this is the case, do not use a TP-Link TL-SG1xxE series switch -- these have a flawed design that can compromise the switch if it is on the WAN side of your router.