Installing Openwrt on Devolo Magic 2 wifi next

First, I'm a newbie and have difficulty following this git commit instructions (https://git.openwrt.org/?p=openwrt/openwrt.git;a=commit;h=d3c88811942a9dc9bbb01ca0443ae9cd790d1988 ).

1. Please; is there any where I could find a clear way to perform the task of installing Openwrt on my adapter for a newbie like me who isn't used to CLI? I know I need putty to access the machine via ssh plus a TFTP server. My problem starts from step 4 to step 6; unfortunately.

2. If l install Openwrt, do I loose the ability to use Devolo-Cockpit to boot and configure the G.hn chip? Asking because of the Notice at the end of the instructions.

Hi, this device requires changing uboot settings. This has the potential to soft-brick the device if you do not know what you're doing and also means you cannot return to stock.

Also, while I don't have this device, the notes at the end appear to state that the PLC functions are not working in openwrt, if you need these do not proceed. You may want to contact the submitter to see if they have a work around (like installing the non-free components from the original firmware). To do that you will need to get familiar with the command line.

lf this is the first time you've installed openwrt on a device - perhaps try with a device that is better supported first, such as a router and get yourself familiar with ssh and commandline uci - before tackling a more complex device like a PLC access point.

1 Like

@ jdwl1o1
Whoa, l assumed the issue of G.hn had been resolved!! That git commit is over a year old.

I also assumed there was a way to install Openwrt without touching the PLC soft/ hard- ware, like is the case with Tl-wpa8630p.

Thanks for the reply.

Hi, it's possible that the device maintainer did come up with a solution that doesn't require non-free components - but you will be 'rolling the dice' with no clear path back to stock.