Install OpenWrt D-Link DIR-853 A1

Hi all.
Just purchased a D-Link DIR-853 on the basis that it had the right features for me and looked like it would be compatible with OpenWRT.
I just recieved the box and it has HW ver A1, and the TOH shows compatability for A3 and R1.
Now i'm not sure enough about all of this to know if it's worth attempting given its not an exact match.
I did some reading on here an google, and can't find anything definitive on compatability, or what the differences are between these HW revisions.
can anyone out here who knows more than I, please enlighten me as to what my options are here?
Is there a compatible build in existance?
is customising a new build something that I could accomplish, being about 1 or 2 steps above absolute beginner at linux?
thanks in advance.

I'm porting OpenWRT to DIR-853 A1, please wait for my good news!

great news, I eagerly await your results!
i'm curious how it goes, and also as a bit of a newbie, i'm interested how to get the finished product onto the router.
is it likely to need hardware mods to get a serial port? or could it be done via flashing in the online interface?
thanks

hey did you have any luck?

is it likely to need hardware mods to get a serial port? or could it be done via flashing in the online interface?

I only know how to flash the firmware via the onboard serial port. The serial port header is not populated by default, so there will be some soldering work to do. Theoretically, if D-Link does not force signature check in its web firmware update, we can do online flashing as well (which doesn't need to open the case of the router).

The serial port exposes the Uboot console, it allows you to download a firmware image via network (TFTP), then either flash it or directly boot it from RAM.