How to simply use OpenWRT as a normal Home Router

I have a Linksys router with 4 LAN interface and 1 WAN interface.
I just want to configure it to behave like a normal home router where

1. WAN interface connects to Telcom Modem using PPPoE
  2. all 4 LAN interfaces would be issuing IP address via DHCP serer. Those LAN interfaces could be connecting to Endpoints or another access switch to extend network.

In past few weeks, I have spent a lot of time and reviewed Openwrt.org official documents (including DSA as I am using version 22) for at least 5 times, and tons of tutorials and videos on YouTube about how to configure it. I am still very confused despite I was a CCNP certified engineer though not familiar with Linux.

Can anyone share a comprehensive and insightful enough book or tutorial which could clear all confusions in a single place?

I have bridged LAN1~4 into lan-br device, bind "interface" WAN to "device" WAN with PPPoE configured, Configured static IP and Enabled DHCP on "interface" LAN. I enabled and created Wireless SSID, though not bridged to lan-br device.
When I connect my cellphone to this wireless SSID, it can surf internet. but I am confused, how could the wireless know that the traffic needs to be routed to WAN interface ???

The default configuration should do exactly that. What were the issues with the defaults that you needed to change?

3 Likes

lan->wan forwarding (with NAT for IPv4) is built into the default firewall configuration.

WiFi APs are attached to a network in the wireless config. Specifying 'lan' as the network will find the lan network is a bridge and add the AP to that bridge. WiFi interfaces should never be referenced directly in the network section.

What you describe is the default configuration, except for enabling an AP and changing the wan protocol from static to pppoe. Everything else can be left at defaults.

1 Like