How to get started writing a kernel module

I'm very new in Openwrt-based development. I need to write a custom kernel module that will use Netfilter. I've previously written kernel modules for ubuntu. But I don't even know how to start for OpenWrt. I just wrote a basic Hello World-type kernel module and tried to compile it. But I couldn't do that, as build-essential files ain't there. And, so I got:

root@OpenWrt:~/nf# make
make -C /lib/modules/5.10.146/build M=/root/nf modules
make[1]: *** /lib/modules/5.10.146/build: No such file or directory.  Stop.
make: *** [Makefile:4: all] Error 2
root@OpenWrt:~/nf#

Is there any command equivalent to this command:

apt-get install build-essential linux-headers-`uname -r`

I'd really appreciate it if anyone helps me by saying what things I really need to study/try first to be able to write my kernel module for OpenWrt.
FYI, I using RPi 3 Model B.

Writing a linux kernel is the same for any distro as long as you consider compiling from source. The only difference might be the "build system" or especially for OpenWrt, the fact that most of the time there is cross-compiling involved.

Have a look at one of the most simple kernel drivers (in terms of Makefile and Source files) that is included in OpenWrt:https://github.com/openwrt/openwrt/tree/master/package/kernel/mt7621-qtn-rgmii

Or: patch whatever Kconfig and Makefile in the respective subsystem you want to have your kernel module and add all the source files to "files" in you target folder.

Sorry. Can you please tell me a few words on how can I set up the environment for kernel module development?

Start reading here: Install Buildsystem

Create your own working OpenWrt image for your target and take it from there. For debugging your code it’s almost a necessity to have serial acccess to your device and be familiar how to recover from a soft brick.