i'm new with openwrt today install in TP-Link mr3420
i want make custom limit Bandwidth
my network it's "ADSL"
download : 15mb
upload: 1.5mb
Bandwidth monthly: it's just 250GB.!
now i want from openwrt help me
first thing i want limit speed
download : 2mb if i use torrent or download manager .. etc ==> transfer rate 230 kb/sec
upload : 1mb
i use sqm but not working 100% i just add download 2000 and upload 2000
if add download 240 it's give me just 50kb.!
i don't understand how it's work
now i want limit download : 2mb and upload :1mb ok .?

and i want limit by day "24" hours
if today we usage 8GB make more limit like this
download: 1mb
upload: 0.5 mb
and next day back to normal mode
download : 2mb
upldaod: 1mb
please if you can help me step by step like copy and past :slight_smile:
and sorry my English not good

very simple to do on most clients... including time based limits, running a separate counter for just this class of traffic on the router would be very difficult... and burdensome on any underpowered device.

if you mean "download quota is for all-traffic" then there are options...

don't do this > ~97% of your actual peak speed +/- overhead

as for the daily totals...

• are you happy with global values ( one counter for all traffic and not per client? )

• are you comfortable with manual config ( linux, editing files, etc. )? or did you need a "gui - friendly" option only?

torrent or download manger it's just example
i want all user use 230 kb/s
yes all traffic just use 230 kb/s not more because we have limit bandwidth [250 GB] every month
please see this image
"https://pasteboard.co/ILSZ1KI.png"
https://pasteboard.co/ILSZ1KI.png
are you happy with global values ( one counter for all traffic and not per client? )
yes for all

are you comfortable with manual config ( linux, editing files, etc. )? or did you need a "gui - friendly" option only?
yes not problem i can use editor vi

thank you