Homenet possibility

As a complete newbie I just stumbled onto OpenWRT and had a function in mind.
My background is that I have a CCNA and CCNP cert. so I'm not new to networking concepts.

To my project at hand.
I have a "closet-server" an old HP running VMWare ESXi 6.5, it is running 6 NICs, i was wondering if it would be possible running OpenWRT on this server as a Virtual Machine?
Assign two NICs to it and run it as my router...
The functions I'm looking for in OpenWRT are the following:

• Run "router-on-a-stick" to act as gateway for 4 different VLANs
  • 2 of the VLANs should be connected to 2 different VPN:s (work/private) both using wireguard
  • The other two VLANs will only connect to internet.

Equipment I'm running right now:
Cisco 3560 equipped with SFP for incoming fibre
ISP-provided shit-router
Ubiquiti Mesh wifi
Haven't put to muck work into this network as my family only uses it to browse and stream

So the setup I'm thinking
Fibre -> Cisco VLAN XXX -> NIC1 OpenWRT -> NIC2 via Trunk -> Cisco

I'm aware that I could use a Cisco-router for this but where's the fun in that?

I hope my explanation makes sense and i realize that I'm quite lazy for just asking this but I just want to know if this would be possible at all before i put any time into it.

Possible, yes - but I'd generally recommend against this for home environments.