Help with VMs, I want to create VLANS

Hello dear OpenWrt community.

So I'm quite new to creating networks in general, let alone VLANs, and also VMs.

My goal is to simulate an office network, I have an Archer A7 router which is connected to my PC through an ethernet cable, and then I have created several Virtual Machines on this PC that are the virtual versions of the PCs of the office network.

I need to create 2 or 3 different VLANs of those VMs, they are connected through a bridged adapter, and are getting DHCP ip addresses from the router for now.

Is there a possibility of separate these VMs into different vlans? If so, how. I'll read through on the internet about this, but I felt like it might be easier to ask, someone might could help me.

Thanks in advance!

You need to be able to put the Ethernet adapter (to which you bridge the VM interfaces) into the promiscuous mode. That would be your #1 task.

What hypervisor are you running on your PC? What is the OS running on the PC? The easiest way to do this would be to run ESXi, as it can easily place the Ethernet port into the promiscuous mode and allow multiple VLANs through it.

You would have to configure the port on your OpenWRT box (to which the computer is connected) as 802.1q trunk. If it’s a routed port, you would create the VLANs by creating sub-interfaces like this: for VLAN10 eth1.10, for VLAN20 eth1.20, etc. Then, you would configure DHCP under each such interface. I don’t have a switch in my OpenWRT box, so I’m not sure how the switched ports are configured as trunks in OpenWRT. I’m thinking there should be a LuCI GUI plugin for it.

1 Like

Hey, thank you for helping!
Im using KVM on linux.
I wont be available for a while, I just got to bed now but I will be back tomorrow to talk more about it. Appriciate it

You’ll have to ask in Linux forums on how to do this in KVM. I’m sure it’s possible. I’ve only used KVM on a NAS, and my NAS has a GUI to do this in.

1 Like