Help with the firewall setup for WireGuard (LuCI)

Dear community,

First of all, I'm no expert in networking. That being said, a while ago I setup WireGuard with it's firewall rules for the office network in order to access the IP cameras (it's working fine). Now, I did the same for my home network but, since I didn't remember what tutorial I followed before, I just copied the same configuration from my office router. The thing is that I don't know if these firewall rules are okay to manage the VPN traffic. I suspect there's something wrong, although I can connect just fine, but I'm concerned about security. Is it possible that you could lend me a hand?

Here's my current setup:

I have no port forwarding rules.

Any help will be appreciated! Thanks :smiley:

See this tutorial on setting up WireGuard in OpenWrt using LuCI -

Thanks for your reply! Well, I'm not using a VPN provider, I just want to acces the IP cameras at the office. I just can't figure out the firewall part. I mean, I can copy the same configuration, but can someone please explain to me the details about it? Also, would a site-to-site VPN be more beneficial for my case?

Since I don't read 3rd links, and you asked about firewalling...

You have the zone setup...

First of all...you allow the VPN to connect to your network...and route to the Internet. This doesn't match with your statement:

• In this configuration, your office can reach you and [maybe] use your Internet connection.
  • Also, you allow your ISP connection to forward to your office WG VPN!?!?

Since there are manuals on the firewall, zones, etc. and your config doesn't match...maybe you should describe what you desire?

I hope that helps secure your WG zone.

• Edit the WG zone and remove forwarding TO LAN and WAN (the requests from LAN will establish an allowed connection)
    • Also edit WAN and remove forward from WG
  • Change input and forward to DROP

maybe you should describe what you desire?