Help with creating a wired only repeater

I'm attempting to create a repeater (archer c7) in my living room for a media player (wired connection only, i do not care much about another wireless repeater). So far, via luci, I have scanned the wireless network and connected to the main router (netgear r7800) and assigned it the lan firewall zone. Then, i changed the IP for lan to be 192.168.1.201 so it won't conflict with the main router.

• ssh into repeater and can ping 8.8.8.8 but not 192.168.1.1 (r7800)

I attempted to create a bridge between the lan interface and the wwan (wireless client) interface but I have no success. The new bridge has an error "Network device not available" and I'm quite lost about this. Can anyone help me out? I'm pretty new to networking/openwrt so i'm lost atm but i can show screenshots of what i did if it's more helpful

Set a static LAN side IP for the repeater, but seems you've already done that.

go to wireless, do a wifi scan, join the wifi network, and that's it.

make sure you disable the DHCP in the repeater, and don't use the WAN interface anywhere.

Are you trying to achieve a wireless bridge? If so, try the instructions below if your wireless hardware is supported (mac80211 based):

1 Like

Okay, I reset to factory and tried again. My steps:

1. Make new lan ip 192.168.1.201 so it doesn't conflict with main router
  2. Scanned and connected to wifi from main router
  3. Tried to access anything. Can't access anything. Can't access lan devices or main router. But the archer c7 itself can access 8.8.8.8

My motivation is for the archer c7 to provide ethernet access to my odroid mediacenter. So i was thinking of the archer c7 connect to the main router and then be able to provide internet access via ethernet cables. If that's kind of what a wireless bridge is, then i think that would be what i want. I presume that means both the main router and the archer need to have configuration changes made to it?