GL.iNet devices and OpenWrt support

Hi all, I was looking at GL.iNet products, and it seems like many of these devices ship with a slightly modified OpenWRT pre-installed. And many of them also support vanilla/stock OpenWRT.

May I know if GL.iNet devices not listed on the OpenWRT "Table of Hardware" page can still run vanilla OpenWRT?

Particularly looking at GL-X300B (not listed) which is very similar to the GL-X750 (which is listed on the OpenWRT "Table of Hardware" page).

Appreciate your thoughts on this

Turns out you are in luck, there's support pending:

1 Like

The above means that the device will be supported in OpenWrt Snapshot images, it's probably not going in current stable release (21.0x) but will be in the next

1 Like

Nice! I saw this too. It seems like additional work is required to implement each OpenWRT release in unsupported hardware. I'm not a firmware developer, hence not familiar with the process. May I know what's required if I were to include support for a new device?

And secondly, does that same work have to be re-done by someone for every release? Or does it mean that once the hardware is supported, then each subsequent release will just require a sysupgrade?

Thanks in advance!

Thank you for the clarification. How much lead time should a new device have before it's included in a stable release?

I don't think it will make it into 21.02. Needs to be accepted into master first.

Once a device is supported it usually stays supported, except when the hardware becomes a constraint for more modern Linux/OpenWrt devices, e.g. when the RAM or flash isn't sufficient anymore.

Ath79 is a very popular target, little chance it will be phased out before it becomes completely obsolete.

1 Like

you look at previous commits that added support for similar devices to see what files must be edited or added, and follow the contribution rules https://openwrt.org/submitting-patches

The latter. Support is only added once.