Firewall/Port Forwarding

I'm fairly new to OPENWRT and have been exploring and configuring my network. I've managed everything so far but one thing and wondered if anyone could give me some advice. I've "stealthed" all my ports apart from the specific ones I need for certain services which I have set them to open with port forwarding rules. I successfully managed to open port 5000 which is great. However, I recently purchased a smart home device which requires ports 5671 and 5672 in order to be communicated with. I set up port forwarding rules but the device is still not accessable remotely. When using the grc shields up test the port shows up as closed rather than stealth but for some reason is not open. Is this because the service isn't running on the smart device or is it configuration error on my end? Thanks to anyone who can help.

Make sure the device you're forwarding to is using your OpenWrt router as default gateway.

Yes it's definitely the default gateway. The modem behind the router ( router is WRT3200ACM) is in bridge mode.

It's quite unusual for home smart devices to require specific ports to be open and forwarded to them, most users are unable to configure their routers accordingly. I would first make sure that this is not a misunderstanding or bad translation.

Then you can use almost any monitoring tool to check that those devices effectively have the required ports open themselves, from inside the LAN.

1 Like

I think you're probably right. I had to contact their support as upon initially setting up the device I realised that I am unable to control the device from outside of the lan. One of their suggestions was to ensure that ports 5671 and 5672 are open. But even after setting up port forwarding on those ports, they don't seem to open. I imagine this is most likely because it doesn't actually require these ports but I just wanted to make sure I wasn't doing something obviously wrong.