Extroot config and sysupgrade with a config file

I'm new to OpenWrt after using dd-wrt on Linksys routers for years and years. I am experimenting and messing up installs left and right and have made notes to copy and paste into ssh and scripts to help me back to a working state. I am using extroot and sysupgrade with a config file using these methods.

Is this enough of a config to make my previously created extroot work after a sysupgrade with config? I believe the other commands were to help identify inputs and check results, so I think this should work.

fstab.@global[0].anon_mount='0'
fstab.@global[0].anon_swap='0'
fstab.@global[0].auto_mount='1'
fstab.@global[0].auto_swap='1'
fstab.@global[0].check_fs='1'
fstab.@global[0].delay_root='5'
fstab.@global[0]=global
fstab.@mount[0].enabled='1'
fstab.@mount[0].target='/mnt/sda1'
fstab.@mount[0].uuid='57190f40-9af1-4a87-9919-4e00a2bc67f7'
fstab.@mount[0]=mount
fstab.overlay.target='/overlay'
fstab.overlay.uuid='57190f40-9af1-4a87-9919-4e00a2bc67f7'
fstab.overlay=mount
fstab.rwm.device='/dev/ubi0_1'
fstab.rwm.target='/rwm'
fstab.rwm=mount

No, the extroot is intentionally disabled over a sysupgrade, as the overlayed files are not compatible between different versions. This starts with simple things like different config file semantics/ syntax, but the really hard incompatible issues arise for runtime installed binaries (-packages), especially these are not compatible at all (what 'might' happen to continue working over minor service upgrades, will definitively fail between major version upgrades - and your opkg database would be seriously messed up either way). An extroot must be recreated after sysupgrades and cannot be enabled again.

2 Likes