Executing scripts at boot time

A few questions...
I am just beginning to use OpenWRT and not all things are running as expected.

In our network have a number of similar scripts across different Linux platforms that I would like to re-use in OpenWRT.
I therefore prefer simple iptables rules to the OpenWRT firewall. (My understanding is that the firewall utility in OpenWRT is a layer on top of iptables.)

Disabling the firewall in Luci works fine. But I have a problem running scripts at startup to create my own set of rules.

If I place a script in /etc/rc.local it does not get executed after a reboot.
(I placed a shebang as first line, it is executable, and runs ok when executed from command line)

If I put the scipt in cron with @reboot directive, it dioes not get executed either.
(It does get executed if I let it run via cron at a specific time).

I also tried to edit the firewall file in /etc/config. There is not a one-to-one relation betyween this file and the iptables rules generated by OpenWRT.

What am I doing wrong?

/etc/rc.local is the place to add the scripts for startup.
Check that the commands are correct and with the full path preferably.
Otherwise paste the script here, maybe you have missed something else.

3 Likes

Hello trendy,
Below is the script. I'm not sure I need the shebang at line 1. The original script did not have it.
(I also tried #!/bin/sh )
If I execute it by typing /etc/rc.local it runs fine.
The logger message does not make it either - it appears to me the script is not executed.
(I removed the comment lines - they appear in bold and large characters on the forum...)

root@OpenWrt:~# cat /etc/rc.local
#!/bin/ash -e
logger ' executing rc.local'

/etc/config/fwSetup 
exit 0

It is procd that starts everything at boot and it is /etc/rc.local that is just about the last thing that gets run.