Dumb AP not dumb enough

Newbie here...

I set out to figure out what all the wi-fi traffic was on my cell phone. It seems constant. Planned to use Wireshark on a desktop PC.

I loaded the latest OpenWrt squashfs image into a WNDR3700v1. That worked fine. Setting it up as a dumb AP took quite a while as the GUI instructions are well out of date. Had to recover several times since default IP is 192.168.1.1 and I wanted 198.162.0.2. Finally got there.
(Wasn't helped by the fact I constantly scramble up 192.168 and 198.162. Have done it for years. No clue why.)

All was working OK. Cellphone connected to 3700 radio and accessed the world through via main router and cable modem.

Installed "opkg install iptables-mod-tee" without issue.

Got to the point where I needed to do "iptables -A PREROUTING -t mangle -i br-lan ! -d <TEST_DEVICE_IP_ADDRESS> -j TEE --gateway <MONITORING_WORKSTATION_IP_ADDRESS>"

About half of the stuff on my network gets assigned fixed IPs based on MAC address. "<MONITORING_WORKSTATION_IP_ADDRESS>" is always 192.168.0.100.

Problem:

I can find "<TEST_DEVICE_IP_ADDRESS>" on the OpenWrt GUI and on the phone but it bears no resemblance to anything on the main router's DHCP assigned addresses table. Same with the MAC address. Ping on the PC finds the phone.

How do I make the OpenWrt dumb AP really dumb? All I need is a pipe between the radio and the main router that will allow the execution of the iptables-mod-tee package. Having the wired ports on the AP work in a similar manner would be nice but is not required.

Regards,
Mickey.

@MickeyLane, welcome to the community!

From your description, you're getting IPs from the AP; and not your main router, correct?

Did you disable DHCP on the OpenWrt interface in question?

Tell dnsmasq to ignore all interfaces. Bridge wifi and wired.

That's it.

1 Like