Does OpenWrt firmware support Beamforming + MU-MIMO- just for the record?

Hi All,

I have read many threads regarding this topic.
After reading them, yet I still not sure my answer.
I am not technical person, just really a noob.
I just want to set the record straight once for all.
Hopefully someone can correct me statement.
Please use low-tech language if you want to help out.

My question is:
If my router has advertised to support Beamforming + MU-MIMO (for Wave2 AC products),
and I flash it with OpenWRT firmware, will l lose this features?
Answer:
Yes, because even though your router has the hardware capability to support Beamforming + MU-MIMO,
however without having proper open source drivers to run them, you will never enjoy these features.

Thank you.

Anyone care to comment?

So, does for example ath10k (or ath10k-ct) not support mu-mimo and beamforming?

I hope I can answer your question.
But I can't because I am not a developer.
I was hoping that someone who is a developer can help out

ath10k and hostapd both support beamforming and MU-MIMO. There's actually not much to it other than listing a few capabilities in hostapd. See:
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/drivers/ath10k/configuration#mu-mimo_configuration

I don't know whether that has been implemented in OpenWrt as don't have any device that supports MU-MIMO or beamforming. But you could easily check that if you are running OpenWrt on a device that supports it. Just connect via SSH and run:

grep vht_capab /var/run/hostapd*.conf

If the output includes the options SU-BEAMFORMER, MU-BEAMFORMER and BF-ANTENNA-* your device should operate in MU-MIMO and beamforming mode (the *-BEAMFORMEE options refer to the client capabilites, afaik).

You could also verify that by capturing the the beacon or probe response frames with wireshark, see:

The wireless access point will advertise MU-MIMO and beamforming capabilities in these frames.

4 Likes

Thanks. I was wondering too.