Different VLANs on WiFi possible?

Ok, I’m a OpenWRT noob and wonder if the following scenario is possible, maybe the hardware doesn’t even allow it.

I have an Archer C7, currently running Gargoyle. I would like to separate my WiFi IoT devices and guests (also isolated from each other) from my other WiFi device. In Gargoyle the ‚normal‘ WiFi and Guest WiFi don’t have any VLAN tagging options. Does OpenWRT allow this or is it even possible?

I want to avoid using a second AP just for that.

The OpenWRT would then be plugged into an OPNSense box where IoT device will then be allowed to talk to e.g. the MQTT broker on LAN.

VLANs (802.1q) are really a standard/description of what happens over traditional ethernet, and not wifi (which doesn't include a standard for tagging frames over wireless). However, this may be more pedantic than the actual intent of your question... if I understand the premise properly, you're really just looking for the ability to create 2 or more isolated networks.

Yes, OpenWrt can handle this... it can be done in a few ways, depending on your network topology and goals. Typically, I recommend that the main router handle all the routing/firewall functions, so that would presumably be your OPNSense device... you'd create the networks there and the firewall on that device would be responsible for allowing and/or blocking the inter-network routing (keeping your networks isolated and/or allowing them to communicate with whatever granularity you need to meet your goals). If the OpenWrt device is acting as a dumb AP, it will be connected to the OPNSense box via a trunk (i.e. a cable carrying multiple networks using VLANs), and then you'll create wifi SSIDs and assign each to the appropraite network. OpenWrt will not change the level of isolation between the multiple networks since it will be controlled by the main router.