D-Link DGS-1210-08P - first steps

Hi all, since it is my first time that I want to flash a device with openwrt, I am possibly too careful.
First of all, the D-Link DGS-1210-08P is not listed in the toh. However, other models of the same series are listed, e.g. D-Link DGS-1210-10P (10 ports instead of 8). A few questions:

Glitch in the matrix.
I have updated the DGS dataentries now to 21.02.1

1 Like

While the device trees of the various realtek based devices are rather similar, the different number of ports must be accounted for - and there can always be different GPIO assignments, RAM- and flash sizes. Blindly flashing a DGS-1210-10P is very likely to end up in disaster.

Steps to go forward:

• confirm that your device really is realtek rtl838x based (depends on the exact hardware revision)
  • open case
  • identify serial port
  • measure and confirm voltage requirements of this serial port
  • connect serial console (required)
  • document the status quo running the OEM firmware, RAM/ flash size, flash partitioning, show tech-support from the switch shell, investigate the abilities of the OEM u-boot (can you enter it, enable the network and tftpboot an initramfs image)
  • compare your findings to the DGS-1210-10P DTS, and adapt it to your needs (new DTS, less ports, potentially differing RAM/ flash sizes and partitioning, GPIO check)
  • build image with the changed settings
  • tftpboot an initramfs image to test your changes
  • give it very thorough testing
  • rinse and repeat
  • back up all OEM flash partitions
  • if you're extra sure about the flash partitioning, offsets and sizes, flash from the initramfs image
  • clean up your patches and submit a pull request against OpenWrt/ master and hope for it to be merged

Sounds complicated, but for realtek devices this is slightly easier than for most other targets, as the hardware is rather similar.

1 Like

https://wikidevi.wi-cat.ru/D-Link_DGS-1210-16_rev_G1 lists 8P as RTL838x under revision G